I’m back

I tried to write on my main blog http://www.jessography.co.uk, but I couldn’t. It feels like I need to keep this life separate in some ways, I can’t explain it.

I’m back on the happy pills after 12 years and in some ways it feels like failure but I also feel strong. 

It’s the first time I’ve reached out for help, recognising that I needed it, and yes, it has helped being on the pills.

Baby steps, and one step at a time.

This is what I posted on my Jessography facebook page which was well received:

Jessy and her photo from her

 

„To be fully congruent and regain balance in my life, I need to tell you something.

I am Jessy, I suffer from depression and at the moment, I’m back on the happy pills. I have good days and bad days but I’ve not stopped being who I am. It is an illness which gets the better of me at times, like now but I’m still me.

Now I know more than ever I am on the right path for my life’s purpose because I know not matter how ill I get, I can help myself. It is now my turn to help others and be there for them through my counselling and therapeutic photography.

Nothing has made this more clear to me than helping out a really good friend over the past few months who has depression for the first time.

Here is a photo from my Unmasked project done a couple of years ago (for more info, visit http://jessographyunmasked.wordpress.com/) and I am publicly posting it here because I have been putting on my ‘happy’ mask again, pretending everything is fine.

This is my way of Unmasking again, being open and honest, not only to you but to me too. I know some of you will be uncomfortable with this which is fine and I am expecting a lot of people to unlike my page and stop contact.

Please know this though, just because someone has depression, it doesn’t make them a lesser person. The more we know about mental health illnesses, the more we learn and the less stigma there will be and the more we can do to manage things.

Thank you x“

 

 

Leave a Reply

