Structure

It is amazing how this year has gone by so quickly and we are already in February!

Lots has been happening for me and more importantly I’m learning some very good practical skills to help me cope with my depression.

One of the most valuable skills is learning structure. It sounds very rigid and I resisted for so long, wanting to be a free spirit but finally I have realised the value in being structured and living a routine life.

So this year what I have done it set out a time table for what I’m doing. There is some flexibility but in general, I have set time to do things i.e Mondays are writing blogs, catching up on outdated emails, Tuesdays I do my counselling course and spend the afternoon with my parents, Wednesdays and Saturdays I do photo shoots, Thursdays I keep for Samaritans and my pottery class and Fridays are a day for me. At the moment Sundays are kept for doing the Calendar Girls shoot but that will only be until March.

This structure has really helped calm my mind, showing me areas that I have free and can breathe. I don’t feel like I’m running around like a headless chicken or feel anxious about not having time. My family (parents included) know when it is appropriate to make connections with me, and know they will be getting my full attention, so we have a nicer time together.

So, I know it’s easier said than done but give it a go. Make a list of all the things have you to get done in a week, then put them into your calendar. Try to just do one or two a day. For me this kept the overwhelm down and left me space to be flexible, breathe and relax.

Let me know how you get on and if you find this skill helpful or not.

Here’s to a calmer mind 🙂

Jessy

x

Leave a Reply

