Toxic people

I have been meaning to write this for a while but was not quite sure how to do it. There have been many articles and blogs I have read about toxic people and some have called them different things. A great example is a blog post from Angie at Incredible Zen:

http://incrediblezen.com/2012/08/22/drains-and-radiators/

Now it will sound silly but I hadn’t realised there were such people about. Don’t get me wrong, I have ‘tidied’ my friends on a regular basis and I thought I had lost connection due to moving in different directions. The whole concept of someone being toxic or a drain was quite revolutionary.

I am quite loyal and could not get rid of people with no reason and did a lot out of obligation. Getting my head around this concept has greatly improved my life and my mental health.

Unfortunately there are so many people out there ready to put you down, criticize your efforts and achievements and generally be negative around you. I personally don’t think this is very healthy for someone who suffers from mental health issues. Being around like-minded people has helped me to accept myself for who I am, allowed me to ‘fit in’ and not feel like a freak and feel so grateful for my life.

So try it; surround yourself with people who fill you with love and hope, encourage you when you need it, support you and celebrate all your achievements, no matter how small.

A word of warning though, it is so much easier said than done but worth the effort.

Let me know how you get on and if it does change your life 🙂

My best radiators 🙂

Leave a Reply

