Hear yourself to better health

I love music, I’m terrible at remembering names of bands and songs, but I love music.

When things get really bad, and my head is so full and I’m bouncing all over the place, the only place I can find peace is by putting on some headphones and listening to music really loud.

Anything really. With the iPod on shuffle I listen to such a range of genres, some help and others don’t. Sometimes the really loud angry music creates an oasis of calm like the centre of a hurricane, where I can simply be and think clearly. I can see the mayhem all around me but for that moment, I can have a rest.

Other times classical or sax music brings my whole mind and body down to a more manageable, calm level where I don’t feel like a headless chicken trying to meet an imaginary deadline or place I’ll never get to.

Music to me is magic and I am awe of those who can create it. My daughter plays the violin and my son the guitar. I’m so impressed with their skill and talent and feel happiness when they play. Dan says I’m so sad being a fan of an eleven year old!

Anyway, I just wanted to share one of my ‘healers’ with you all. I leave you with one of my favorite songs, What a Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong. Always a good reminder for me to look at the bigger picture.

What is your favorite song?

2 thoughts on “Hear yourself to better health

Leave a Reply

